In New Hampshire, probation violations are punishable by the maximum possible sentence for the underlying crime. This means that, no matter what your sentence was when you left court before, you could serve up to 7 ½ to 15 years at the State Prison for a Class A felony and 3 ½ to 7 years at the State Prison for a Class B felony. The majority of felonies in New Hampshire fall into these two categories, but special felonies operate the same way. Your period of probation could also be extended at a probation violation hearing.
If you're facing a probation violation, it’s important to act quickly and create open lines of communication with the prosecutor, the involved probation officer(s), and other people such as treatment providers and counselors. The judge will listen to their input and acting quickly can make all the difference at a hearing. You should have someone on your side as soon as possible. Attorneys Reis and O’Keefe will explore all your options including having a full hearing, exploring alternative sentencing courts such as drug court, and negotiating a resolution before the hearing.
Reis & O'Keefe's Portsmouth criminal defense attorneys have defended thousands of clients against criminal charges. If you are facing a New Hampshire probation violation, we know what you are going through. We encourage you to contact us now for a free consultation.